And so it begins…..again

Sitting in the airport waiting for the flight to board means that I am off to the land of Turks again. Later this year thanks to May following Trump’s lead and banning laptops on flight from Turkey, so I had to stay behind and work. I did not think it was a good idea to risk losing a government laptop just to travel with my kids. Unfortunately that has meant I stayed behind for three weeks while they had fun travelling to parts of the country they hadn’t seen before: Bodrum, Izmir, Pamukkale and Ankara.

While it meant that I got some downtime, and by that I mean in addition to working I mostly sat on my fat backside thinking ‘I should do…that’ and not getting round to it. It was time a definitely needed after a very stressful 7 months. But very far from productive. To say that I missed the boys is an understatement and I can’t wait to see them again but for this damned flight. Fortunately they are now in Istanbul so I only have one four hour flight to contend with. A double gin is making me feel delightfully fuzzy and keeping the demons at bay.

This morning Smelly wished that teleportation was real. I do too, up to a point. but for now it’s a few hours on a plane to see their faces again and get the biggest hugs in the universe.

Looks like everyone is piling through the gate so time to get my fuzzy head in gear and follow them too. Wonder what adventures this summer will bring.

About 5yearsmybrainhurtsalot

Once a stay at home mum in Ankara, now a working mum who makes regular lengthy trips to Mersin with my brood
This entry was posted in Istanbul, Me and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

